Automatic Opt-Out

A STOP request is a universally accepted SMS command that allows users to unsubscribe or opt-out of an SMS database at any given time by using a specified unsubscribe keyword (e.g Reply STOP to unsubscribe).

Group Opt In

What is a STOP request?

Due to the SMS messaging regulations in many countries where users must be given the option to opt-out of receiving messages, we have put procedures in place to ensure that our customers do not break any regulations or restrictions when using our service. In countries where BulkSMS enables replies, our system automatically processes any STOP requests and will prevent you from sending any further SMS messages to recipients who have opted-out from your database.

How does a STOP request work?

When a message recipient replies to an SMS message with a STOP request (i.e. responds to your SMS message with the word STOP, UNSUBSCRIBE, QUIT, or some variants), our system automatically blocks your BulkSMS account from sending to that mobile number again. You will receive an email detailing which contact has requested to be removed from your contact list.

What do I need to do when I receive a stop request?

If you are using the Web to SMS platform to send and receive SMS messages, you do not need to do anything in response to the STOP request as our system will automatically remove the contact from your address book. If, however, you are sending SMS messages from any of our other platforms, you need to manually remove the contact that opted out from your contact list. Attempting to send an SMS message to an unsubscribed contact will incur messaging costs.

For any information or queries regarding STOP requests, please contact support@bulksms.com.